Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CHECK OUT THE GALLERY OF SURFING SHOTS TAKEN AT THE US OPEN OF SURF FINALS YESTERDAY

This picture was taken of me as I stared out over the surfing action on Sunday. It was taken by my friend and cohort Tony Donaldson who is a fantastic photographer and I’ll be featuring his work from Sunday’s event soon. The crowd was so huge that I was being pushed into the ocean as they crowded close to the surf to get a picture or a glimpse of some of the world’s top surfers. Right behind me little boy stood with a marker waiting for an autograph. I thought this was odd as the surfers were running by, boards in hand behind a cordoned off area. But I admired the little fellow and told him to run after them. A few things struck me as I wandered in and out of the crowds all weekend looking for the best spots to get some picts. Tattoos, I think we’ve gone a little too far. I saw innocent looking teens with gigantic curling artwork going up their backs around their abdomens and messages written in scrolling script I could hardly read. I also saw gross misplaced tattoos on guys with no real thought to design or how all of the tats would work together.

Lakey Petersen wins the Women’s Open

Aside from that there was plenty of the desired California scenery you’d expect; girls in bikinis, guys with oiled pecs, faux hawks, wildly colored hair and blonde surfer looking dudes everywhere. Plenty of families and small kids frolicking on the shoreline and lots of sunshine after the fog burned off. In all a glorious event with spectacular surfing.

Here’s the link to the surfing gallery shots https://illustratorsjournal.wordpress.com/lon-levin-photography/surfing/