Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I wanted to honor and give thanks to our armed forces around the world who put their lives on the line to keep us safe every day. I had occasion to spend a few days a while back in at Fort Bliss in El Paso, Texas. There I met a lot of young men and women dedicated to doing their best to help guard and defend America and Americans around the world. As a former Viet Nam War Conscious Objector I was impressed by their dedication and their patriotism. In light of the recent scandals involving the military I thought I might reflect on some of the positive parts of our armed forces, the troops! So in honor of Thanksgiving I want to pay tribute via the photos I took when I visited the base.

Here are some thoughts on Thanksgiving as well.

Each morning when you wake up, think about all the things you are grateful for. What do you have that you would never want to lose? Don’t just think about it, really feel it. Feel the joy and happiness in your body. Starting your day like this will do wonders for the rest of the day. Do this every day and it’ll do wonders for the rest of your life.

So for this Thanksgiving holiday, remember, the meaning of Thanksgiving is to be thankful for what you have and it’s a day that’s set as a reminder for us to be grateful. Whatever you end up doing and whoever you end up spending time with this Thanksgiving, be happy that you have those people in your life. If you don’t have anyone or anything, at least be grateful for your eyesight and ability to read. Again, happiness really comes down to what rules you set for yourself in order to be happy. And it’s always a good place to start with what you already have.