Tags

, , , , , , ,

282473_10152328859270203_1468671846_n
Photo of Max Scheindlin at Austin Children’s Museum taken by Lon Levin

To Be in Wonderment

“I can’t believe that!” said Alice.
“Can’t you?” the Queen said in a pitying tone. “Try again: draw a long breath, and shut your eyes.”
Alice laughed. “There’s no use trying,” she said. “One can’t believe impossible things.”
“I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. ” When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
Lewis Carroll “Alice in Wonderland”

What are “impossible things?” Are there really “impossible things” out there? Of course there are, but there’s also a line at which we stop and give up because we think “it’s impossible.”Perhaps what we really mean is that something is extremely difficult or that we don’t see a way to make it happen. The Queen said she practiced believing impossible things every day- talk about stretching your concept of reality! Maybe the Queen was dreaming of a reality that was beyond her current reach. Yet by dreaming, she was sculpting the life she wanted from this moment forward.

It’s that time of year when we set our goals for the new year. Perhaps it’s the ten pounds that we intended to lose this last year. Ok! Maybe it was fifteen pounds. Maybe it’s a better relationship. Perhaps one of your goals was to be less judgmental; I know that’s always been a goal of mine.

For many years I have extensively explored how using goals can help move us forward in our life. This knowledge which was once a secret of a select few, after the production of the DVD, The Secret, is now readily available to all of us. The essence of this knowledge is to visualize what it is that we want and to experience it as already occurring. Allow yourself to feel the emotions associated with your visualization. The more vivid you can make your experience the greater likelihood of it becoming a reality. Sitting quietly experiencing your dream fully for a minute is powerful. The Queen did it for half an hour.

There’s no guarantee that because you have goals you will achieve them, but most likely you will be headed in the right direction. And how much time does it actually take to think about them? The good news is that many times not only will you achieve them, but you will exceed them. How’s that for a paradigm shift? Whether you achieve your goal is not as important as who you become in the process. If your goal is to have a great relationship, you have to become a more evolved person first. If your goal is to become a successful entrepreneur, you need to first become more adventurous, more positive and more resourceful. There’s always going to be a next one and a next one.

The dance is to have these goals, but not to live in the future, which happens when we become attached to obtaining our goals. When I was much much younger, my dream was to get out of school and have a real life. That’s what I thought about instead of enjoying school. And then I dreamed of finding my soul mate and having a family. I’m fully immersed in this one. Creating an abundant life was also a dream. And then I dreamed of finding my life’s work. I’m doing it now with my coaching and writing. I know I will have more dreams and that’s what makes life exciting.

As this year begins, there are many uncertainties. Through the years I have learned to think about the unknown differently. I now think of the unknown as “my friend.” I’m curious to find out what it has in store for me. I’m more than curious; I’m excited. Join with me!

Think of this letter as an invitation to examine your life in a positive empowering way; I have noticed and applauded the determination and commitment of so many to discover a better way of living. What I mean by better is a life where there is more fulfillment and purpose so that you are excited about getting up in the morning and going to the next level. As you make subtle internal shifts in thinking, more noticeable changes occur on the practical everyday level of existence.

What would it mean to you if this year becomes extraordinary? Who would you be, how would you feel and what would you accomplish? Think of what changes you would make so that one year from now you could honestly say, “This was an extraordinary year.”

My challenge to you is to ask these questions as you go forward in this next year. l invite you to join with me and others so that you have a partner in making the necessary shifts to help you take the next step to the next level of your life. Together there is community. Together there is power. Together we can see through what is standing in the way and stand on the other side.

WRitten by Mark Susnow/Life Coach