Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I spend all day at the Los Angeles Zoo out in the Griffith Park area. I hadn’t been there in a while and I wanted to take pictures of the animals. Now I am not a big supporter of keeping animals in cages and some of the animal behavior I saw there seemed like depression or obsessive neurotic behavior but I’m no expert. I also have no idea how well the animals are treated so I am not pointing a finger at the zoo. In fact I thought it was laid out quite well. It seemed to me that the apes and chimps could get out if they wanted but they seem to lack the desire. But again I may be overestimating their abilities. Despite my upset at seeing these incredible creatures behind bars I appreciate that you could not see them any other way in Los Angeles.

Putting aside my feelings I really enjoyed seeing what the zoo had to offer and I took pictures, plenty of pictures. The animals that stuck out to me were the tiger (who was a rock star with many fans watching him) and the chimps and gorillas whose expression are so human it’s scary. I was also struck by the majesty of the giraffes who seem to glide around their enclosure and the flamingos whose beauty is stunning. The least impressive was the alligator who didn’t move a muscle for 4 hours. Here is my first gallery of photos to see from my outing.

ZEBRA EATS.LR_0142

gorilla money shot.lr_0136

GREAT GORILLA FACE.LR_0129

NIG GORILLA AND FRIEND.LR_0125

OSTRICH.LR_0058

GIRAFFE.LR_0024

CHIMP SITTIN'.LR_0021

CHIMP RELAXING.LR_0018

BIG FLAMINGO.LR_9970

MEERCAT.LR_9952