Tags

, , , , , ,

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 11.22.21 AM Around noon on Sunday I crossed the LA Marathon finish line after running 13.1 miles to complete a half-marathon. I was sore yet ecstatic. The feeling of running the last mile was exhilarating and while it was happening I took in the aroma of the moment and realized this was the height of performance art. I had created myself as a long-distance runner despite being a cardiac patient three years removed from open-heart surgery. I ran to help raise money for Beit T’Shuvah and to prove I could do anything I set my mind to do. SIGNAGE.LR_0301 and I ran to honor my friends Louis, Tony, & Joey who are no longer with me and I ran to honor one of my favorite human beings, Harry Salter who died peacefully in his sleep at the age of 98 last week. As I challenge myself these days I realize more and more how precious moments like finishing a marathon are. So my life is my art. All I do is created by me and that needs not be defined by labels like art director, illustrator or the like. Just doing what I love to do and trying to be the best me doing it I can. Much more to come.