Tags

, , , , , ,

ENJOY ME!

I read the LA Times today and buried in the first section of the paper was this wonderfully insightful article by Meghan Daum. In it she mentions Louis C.K.’s rant on Conan O’Brien’s show about cell phones and kids and why we all cannot be alone for a moment these days. How many times have you seen someone pull out their cellphone and check messages?….or better yet how many times have you done that? I know I have. God forbid anyone sees me staring out into space thinking about something. Look this syndrome has gotten so bad we have people all over talking on cellphones with hidden headsets and it appears like they are talking to themselves. Fact is it’s harder to tell whether someone is talking on their phone or just plain crazy these days.

To top that off I was channel surfing last night and I landed on the Sci-fi channel and there was a scientist talking about how he had a chip inserted into his brain or nervous system and could now operate a mechanical hand that was sitting on a table just by thinking about it. And he could feel the sensations of the grip in his hands. The far reaching implications of this are obvious according to him. We could all be wired together so that we could collectively think and create better solutions.

I’m all for advancement but to get back to the cellphone issue, I think we need to mandate a timeout. Perhaps have a group where we all meet and agree to talk and share and no electronic devices are allowed. Perhaps we do this on a hike or at the beach and just enjoy what nature has provided. Here’s the Louis C k video rant. I hope you enjoy and get as much out of it as I did.