Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve known Cindy Jackson for the last ten years. I was her student, she did work for me , then we became friends. She is a marvelous artist who is so good at what she does it defies logic. Her pieces are dynamic and forceful with powerful messages in execution and form. It seems almost illogical that such power could come out of someone who is small in stature, soft spoken and very learned.Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 5.31.46 PM

Cindy once worked as a sculptor for Hasbro and McDonalds.  You know?  The toys in your happy meals?  She is also skilled as a painter and has worked as a graphic designer.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 5.33.09 PMCindy’s latest endeavor is entitled (Not Quite) Salvation. Here is her explanation of the show

It’s an exploration into ways in which we, as a modern society, seek ‘salvation’. True, I was brought up in a very religious household. And yes, I am sure that it has strongly influenced the way I look at the world. I take a pretty critical view of not only organized religion, but also the way in which we tend to follow others.  Speaking broadly I do think that our culture (all cultures really from the past and forever onward) will be seeking.  We might not always be seeking the same thing, but we are forever looking for something to take us to a higher place. Perhaps it’s because I live in Los Angeles, but it’s apparent to m1425533543530e that we seek our higher self by striving for money (or at least the appearance of money) – and that manifests itself in the lust and constant consumption of brands that project affluence. Our “religion” manifests itself in the surface of things.

I love the
physicality of sculpture and of working large. For me it carries a power that I don’t experience when, for instance, I look at a painting. There was a time not too long ago when I was ha
nging my sculptures of Yo-Yo Man on the streets of Los Angeles and just leaving them there. For me, it was the act of taking a work of art out of the precious nature of an art gallery and instead incorporating it into our everyday world just to see what it would do. I very quickly came to realize that the size of the work and the way that it activated the space around it was as much a part of the work as the sculpture itself…which led me to thinking about installations…

The Salvation Men need to be big. My LV Angel needs to be life-size. My Hanging Jesus Swag Lamps need to be smaller than life-size.  The size I choose in making my sculpture is all about the psychology of how we perceive things in relation to our bodies. That being said, certainly everything doesn’t need to be gigantic. My savings account can’t take that. HA

End Part 1